Skip to main content

Home News News World

Watch the amazing moment England cricket captain Joe Root calls out opponent’s homophobia on the pitch

The cricketer made the comment to England cricket captain Joe Root

By Steve Brown

Words: Steve Brown

Shannon Gabriel has been charged by the international cricketing body after making an ‘inappropriate comment’ to England captain Joe Root.

During the third test game in Saint Lucia, Root was involved with a row with the Windies bowler who was warned by umpires over his ‘abusive’ language.

Although it’s not known what Gabriel said, Root’s response implied it was homophobic and is heard saying: “Don’t use that as an insult. There is nothing wrong with being gay.”

Now, on Tuesday night (February 12) the International Cricket Council charged Gabriel for breaching Article 2.13 of the code of conduct which states that: “Public criticism of, or inappropriate comment in relation to any incident occurring in an international match or any player…or a team participating in an international match, whether or not the match official is involved…or which may be considered detrimental to the game of cricket in general.”

Joe Root

On Twitter, ICc Media wrote: “Shannon Gabriel has been charged with a breach Article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct. The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further. @ICC”

Gabriel will now face a two-match ban.