Skip to main content

Home News News World

The new UK Parliament reportedly has the highest number of LGBTQ MPs in the world

There are now 20 Tories, 15 Labour and 10 SNP MPs who identify as LGBTQ

By Steve Brown

Words: Steve Brown

Boris Johnson’s new Parliament has the highest number of LGBTQ MPs in the world.

After the general election last week, the Conservatives won by a landslide amount and managed to secure a number of seats that have been Labour since 1932.

Before the election, six LGBTQ Tories and one Labour stood down and three out Labour MPs lost their seats.

But it appears the number of out LGBTQ MPs rose considerably and there are now 20 Tories, 15 Labour and 10 SNP MPs who identify as LGBTQ – the highest number of out elected MPs in the world.

The SNP has the highest proportion of gay, bi and lesbian MPs of any other party while around 5.5 per cent of Tories and 7.4 per cent of Labour MPs identify as LGBTQ.

There are no LGBTQ MPs for the Liberal Democrats – who saw a whopping defeat – Plaid Cymru, Green Party and Northern Irish parties.

During the election Imran Ahmad-Khan made history as the first out Muslim elected MP in the world.

More than half of Labour’s MPs are now women for the first time and of the 26 new Labour MPs, just four are white men.

The full list of out LGBTQ MPs can be found below:


Daniel Kawczynski – Shrewsbury & Atcham

Crispin Blunt – Reigate

Conor Burns  – Bournemouth West

Nigel Evans – Ribble Valley

Lee Rowley – Derbyshire North East

Mark Menzies – Fylde

Nick Gibb – Bognor Regis & Littlehampton

Iain Stewart – Milton Keynes South

Paul Holmes – Eastleigh

Imran Ahmad Khan – Wakefield

Mark Fletcher – Bolsover 

William Wragg – Hazel Grove

Stuart Andrew – Pudsey

Damien Moore – Southport

David Mundell – Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale

Mike Freer – Finchley and Golders Green

Kieran Mullan – Crewe and Nantwich 

Elliot Colburn – Carshalton and Wallington 

Chris Clarkson – Heywood and Middleton 

Antony Higginbotham – Burnley 


Angela Eagle – Wallasey

Clive Betts – Sheffield South East

Nick Brown – Newcastle upon Tyne East

Dan Carden – Liverpool Walton

Stephen Doughty – Cardiff South & Penarth

Nia Griffith – Llanelli

Gerald Jones – Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney

Luke Pollard – Plymouth, Sutton

Steve Reed – Croydon North

Wes Streeting – Ilford North

Ben Bradshaw – Exeter

Chris Bryant – Rhondda

Peter Kyle – Hove

Lloyd Russell Moyle – Brighton Kemptown

Cat Smith – Lancaster and Fleetwood

Scottish National Party

Hannah Bardell – Livingston

Mhairi Black – Paisley & Renfrewshire South

Martin Docherty – West Dunbartonshire

Stuart McDonald – Cumbernauld, Kilsyth & Kirkintilloch

Stewart McDonald – Glasgow South

Joanna Cherry – Edinburgh South West

Alyn Smith – Stirling

Angela Crawley – Lanark & Hamilton East

John Nicholson – Ochil and South Perthshire 

Neale Hanvey – Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath