Skip to main content

Home Culture Culture Film & TV

Years & Years are set to release their new album in July

The band announced the news on social media alongside a short film featuring Dame Judi Dench

By Steve Brown

Years & Years will be dropping their new album Palo Santo this July – three years after their 2015 debut Communion.

The band – which includes frontman Olly Alexander, Mikey Goldsworthy and Emre Türkmen – took to social media today (26.04.18) to tease the “first official single” from their highly anticipated album alongside a short film.

A press release says: “On Palo Santo, Years & Years’ impact on pop feels truly tribal, one in which the minority is always the majority and everyone is welcome.”

It went on to add that the band have created “the perfect space in which to tell their most intimate, personal stories; on identity, sexuality, performance and ultimately, what it means to be human.”

The band also released the short film – with the same title as the album – which is narrated by Dame Judi Dench, directed by Fred Rowson and starring the band’s frontman, Dench and Thai actor Vithava Pansringarm.

On their official Twitter page, the band tweeted a picture with the Academy Award winner and wrote: “Here I am with the powerful omnipotent Mother of Palo Santo, Dame Judi Dench, who let us record her iconic voice for our short film.


The plot for the film is: “Palo Santo has also become a city on a distant planet, on which human beings are a rare commodity, worshipped and idolised by an android society.

“Olly, along with the final humans, is recruited to perform in a series of bizarre erotic cabarets, for an artificial master known only as The Showman.”

The Palo Santo tracklisting is as follows:

1.     Sanctify

2.     Hallelujah

3.     All For You

4.     Karma

5.     Hypnotised

6.     Rendezvous

7.     If You’re Over Me

8.     Preacher

9.     Lucky Escape

10.   Palo Santo

11.   Here (Interlude)

12.   Howl (Bonus track)

13.   Don’t Panic (Bonus track)

14.   Up In Flames (Bonus track)