Skip to main content

Home Culture Culture Film & TV

Solange announces brand new album ‘A Seat at the Table’

By Will Stroude

It’s been four long years since she graced us with the spectacular True, and now Solange Knowles is ready to bless us once more with a new album this Friday (September 30).

Entitled A Seat at the Table, the 30-year-old describes her fourth album, which includes collaborations with Kelly Royland, Lil’ Wayne and The Dream, as “a project on identity, empowerment, independence, grief and healing.”

To celebrate the upcoming release, the younger sister of Beyoncé mailed 86 fans a book of lyrics and poetry, as well as photos, while a digital version of the book can be found here.

The tracklist, suggests that this album will straddle political and personal matters, with titles like ‘Don’t Touch My Hair’ hinting at themes of racism and the pressures black women face across the world, while ‘Tina Taught Me’ is a very clear ode her and Beyoncé’s mother.

Though each are artists in their own right, with Beyoncé’s Lemonade sending the world into meltdown earlier this year and Solange’s new record set to do the same this week, it looks as the Knowles sisters hold the world of pop in their hands in 2016.

Check out the full track listing for ‘A Seat at the Table’ below:

01. Rise
02. Weary (Additional Vocals blessed by Tweet)
03. Interlude: The Glory Is In You
04. Cranes In The Sky
05. Interlude: Dad Was Mad
06. Mad (feat. Lil Wayne) (Additional Vocals blessed by Moses Sumney and Tweet)
07. Don’t You Wait
08. Interlude: Tina Taught Me
09. Don’t Touch My Hair (feat. Sampha)
10. Interlude: This Moment (Additional vocals Devonte Hynes of Houston Texas and Lu of Carolina)
11. Where Do We Go (Additional vocals blessed by Sean Nicholas Savage)
12. Interlude: For Us By Us
13. F.U.B.U. (feat. The Dream & BJ The Chicago Kid) (Additional Vocals blessed by Tweet)
14. Borderline (An Ode To Self Care) (feat. Q-Tip)
15. Interlude: I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It (feat. Kelly Rowland & Nia Andrews)
16. Junie”
17. Interlude: No Limits
18. Don’t Wish Me Well
19. Interlude: Pedestals
20. Scales (feat. Kelela)
21. Closing: The Chosen Ones

More stories:
Professional skateboarding star Brian Anderson comes out as gay
Get the look for less: Recreate the best celebrity looks from London Fashion Week