Skip to main content

Home Culture Culture Film & TV

Evan Peters to reprise his role as Tate Langdon in ‘American Horror Story: Apocalypse’

Tate was the first character ever played by Peters in Ryan Murphy's hit anthology series

By Steve Brown

Evan Peters is set to reprise his role as Tate Langdon in American Horror Story: Apocalypse.

The actor portrayed the serial killing, teenage ghost in the first ever season of Ryan Murphy’s hit anthology series Murder House back in 2011.

And now, the series creator revealed the upcoming eighth season is set to be a crossover of Murder House and Coven – the third season.

As the release date draws closer, Murphy has teased the return of many actors set to reprise roles including Sarah Paulson, Connie Britton, Dylan McDermott, Taissa Farmiga and the legend Jessica Lange – who left the show after season four.

Although it was known that Peters – who has appeared in every season to date – would be returning for Apocalypse, we only knew he would be playing a new character.

But now, Murphy has posted an Instagram picture revealing Peters will be reprising his role as Tate in the upcoming season.

Murphy wrote: “Tate. Happy to be home.”


Tate. Happy to be home.

A post shared by Ryan Murphy (@mrrpmurphy) on

From what we know so far, the show is set to follow the coven of witches going head-to-head against Michael Langdon – the son of Tate and Vivien Harmon (Britton) – aka the Anti-Christ.

Emma Roberts is set to reprise her role as Coven’s scene-stealing Madison Montgomery, the coke-addled Hollywood starlet and witch who tore through Miss Robichaux’s Academy like a telekinetic Regina George on steroids back in 2013.  

Kathy Bates and Cheyenne Jackson will also be returning to the highly anticipated season alongside Billy Eichner, Leslie Grossman, Billie Lourd and Adina Porter.

It’s also known that Dame Joan Collins will be joining the cast and this week Jeffrey Bowyer-Chapman and Kyle Allen will also be starring as guest roles in the new series.

The new season is slated for release on September 12.