Skip to main content

Home Culture Culture Film & TV

Kylie Minogue announces new greatest hits album ‘Step Back in Time’

The double-disc retrospective collection will be out 28 June.

By Will Stroude

Words: Will Stroude

Those gay pop icons just won’t take their feet off our necks this morning: After Madonna showed the children how it’s done during a stunning hologram-filled performance at the Billboard Music Awards last night (2 May), Ms. Kylie Minogue has kept the joy coming with the announcement of a brand new greatest hits album.

Set for release on 28 June, Step Back in Time: The Definitive Collection includes 42 of the Aussie pop princess’s biggest hits and hidden gems from the last 32 years, including her seven UK chart-toppers and 23 UK Top 10 hits.

The retrospective record, which is already available to pre-order, will be available as a standard double CD and digital release, as well as a Deluxe CD with 32 page case bound book, 2 LP Picture Disc Vinyl, 2 LP Limited Edition Mint Green Vinyl, 2 LP Standard Black Gatefold Vinyl, and a Double Cassette available in 5 limited edition colours.

“Yes #Lovers, we’re going to Step Back In Time with ‘The Definitive Collection’,” Minogue wrote on Twitter as she announced the album on Thursday (2 May).

“I wanted to celebrate our 30+ years together and get us all ready for the upcoming festival shows! SO. MANY. MEMORIES!”

While Step Back in Time marks Kylie’s most comprehensive musical collection yet, there are still some notable omissions from the 50-year-old singer’s stellar back catalogue.

Former UK Top 10s ‘Chocolate’ and ‘Giving You Up’ are notably absent, as is any sign of 2014’s Kiss Me Once album – which gave us criminally-underrated lead single ‘Into the Blue’ – and 2015’s Kylie Christmas.

1991 singles ‘Word Is Out’ and ‘If You Were with Me Now’ with Keith Washington have also failed to make the cut, as has 1992’s ‘Finer Feelings’- but as greatest hits collections go, you can’t argue that Kylie has the discography to deliver.

‘Step Back in Time: The Definitive Collection’ is set for release on 28 June. Check out the full tracklist below:

Disc One:

Can’t Get You Out Of My Head
Spinning Around
Love At First Sight
In Your Eyes
All The Lovers
I Believe In You
In My Arms
On A Night Like This
Your Disco Needs You
Please Stay
2 Hearts
Red Blooded Woman
The One
Come Into My World
Get Outta My Way
Kids (with Robbie Williams)
Stop Me From Falling

Disc Two:

Step Back In Time
Better The Devil You Know
Hand On Your Heart
Wouldn’t Change A Thing
Especially For You (with Jason Donovan)
I Should Be So Lucky
The Loco-Motion
Give Me Just A Little More Time
Never Too Late
Got To Be Certain
Tears On My Pillow
Je Ne Sais Pas Pourquoi
What Kind Of Foo sevebnl (Heard All That Before)
What Do I Have To Do?
Confide In Me
Put Yourself In My Place
Where The Wild Roses Grow (with Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds)
New York City (Bonus Track)