Skip to main content

Home Culture Culture Film & TV

Taron Egerton and Renée Zellweger land BAFTA 2020 nominations

The two former Attitude cover stars gave outstanding performances as Elton John and Judy Garland

By Steve Brown

Words: Steve Brown

Taron Egerton and Renée Zellweger, Rocketman and Judy all land BAFTA 2020 nominations.

After both former Attitude cover stars taking home Golden Globes over the weekend for their performances as two LGBTQ icons – Elton John and Judy Garland – the award season is just starting for the two actors.

Now, the BAFTA 2020 nominations have been released and the Elton John musical biopic has landed a nomination for Outstanding British Film, going up against Sam Mendes 1917 and Ken Loach’s Sorry We Missed You.

The Dexter Fletcher movie is also nominated for Sound and Make-up and Hair, going head-to-head with the Judy Garland biopic Judy.

Leading man Taron Egerton has also been nominated for Leading Actor and will go up against Joaquin Phoenix, Adam Driver and Leonardo Dicaprio.

The Rupert Goold Judy Garland movie has landed a nod for best Costume design as well as Renée Zellweger being nominated for Leading Actress.

Zellweger, who took home the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Motion Picture Drama, will go up against Scarlett Johansson and Charlize Theron.#

The nominations have already caused controversy as the acting categories are dominated by all-white nominees despite Eddie Murphy and Cynthia Erivo all landing Golden Globe nominations.

The Director category was once-again all-male with the likes of Joanna Hogg (The Souvenir), Greta Gerwig (Little Women), and Marielle Heller (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood) all missed out on the category. 

Even the Best Film nominees are all male directed.

Check out the full list on nominees below:

Best Film


The Irishman


Once Upon A Time In Hollywood


Outstanding British Film



For Sama 


Sorry We Missed You

The Two Popes 

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Bait, Mark Jenkin (Writer/director), Kate Byers, Linn Waite (Producers)

For Sama, Waad Al-kateab (Director/producer), Edward Watts (Director)

Maiden, Alex Holmes (Director)

Only You, Harry Wootliff (Writer/director)

Retablo, Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio (Writer/director)*

Film Not in the English Language

The Farewell

For Sama

Pain and Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire


American Factory 

Apollo 11 

Diego Maradona 

For Sama

The Great Hack

Animated Film

Frozen 2 


A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon 

Toy Story 4


Sam Mendes – 1917

Martin Scorsese – The Irishman

Todd Phillips – Joker

Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Bong Joon-ho – Parasite

Original Screenplay

Booksmart (Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman)

Knives Out (Rian Johnson)

Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach)

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood (Quentin Tarantino)

Parasite (Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho)

Adapted Screenplay

The Irishman (Steven Zaillian)

Jojo Rabbit (Taika Waititi)

Joker (Todd Phillips, Scott Silver)

Little Women (Greta Gerwig)

The Two Popes (Anthony Mccarten)

Leading Actress

Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose

Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story

Saoirse Ronan – Little Women

Charlize Theron – Bombshell

Renée Zellweger – Judy

Leading Actor

Leonardo Dicaprio – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Adam Driver – Marriage Story

Taron Egerton – Rocketman

Joaquin Phoenix – Joker

Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes

Supporting Actress

Laura Dern – Marriage Story

Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit

Florence Pugh – Little Women

Margot Robbie – Bombshell

Margot Robbie – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Supporting Actor

Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood

Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes

Al Pacino – The Irishman

Joe Pesci – The Irishman

Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Original Score

1917 – Thomas Newman

Jojo Rabbit – Michael Giacchino

Joker – Hildur Guđnadóttir

Little Women – Alexandre Desplat

Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – John Williams


Joker – Shayna Markowitz

Marriage Story – Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Victoria Thomas

The Personal History Of David Copperfield – Sarah Crowe

The Two Popes – Nina Gold


1917 – Roger Deakins

The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto

Joker – Lawrence Sher

Le Mans ’66 – Phedon Papamichael

The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke


The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker

Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagle

Joker – Jeff Groth

Le Mans ’66 – Andrew Buckland, Michael Mccusker

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Fred Raskin

Production Design

1917 – Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales

The Irishman – Bob Shaw, Regina Graves

Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková

Joker – Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh

Costume Design

The Irishman – Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell

Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo

Judy – Jany Temime

Little Women – Jacqueline Durran

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Arianne Phillips

Makeup & Hair

1917 – Naomi Donne

Bombshell – Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan

Joker – Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann

Judy – Jeremy Woodhead

Rocketman – Lizzie Yianni Georgiou


1917 – Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson

Joker – Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic

Le Mans ’66 – David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester

Rocketman – Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan

Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Special Visual Effects

1917 – Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy

Avengers: Endgame – Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick

The Irishman – Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman

The Lion King – Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez

Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy

British Short Animation

Grandad Was A Romantic

In Her Boots

The Magic Boat 

British Short Film




Learning To Skateboard In A Warzone (If You’re A Girl) 

The Trap 

EE Rising Star Award (Voted for by the public)


Jack Lowden

Kaitlyn Dever

Kelvin Harrison Jr.

Micheal Ward